Happy ICLW Week!

I’m excited for this week as I need to redeem myself for my poor performance* last month.

I thought I’d provide a quick synopsis of where things stand to date for those stopping by the first time (I’m very happy you’re here!), and then go back to regularly scheduled programming.

My husband (known here as LG) and I have been married a little over a year, and we’ve been trying to expand our family literally since our wedding night. It’s a first time marriage for both of us but it took us a long time to find each other, so we’re practically both in the eating-at-Denny’s-at-4:30-in-the-afternoon camp** when it comes to baby-making. I’m 37 and he’s a few weeks shy of 44.

We fastracked our first visit to the RE given our ages as well as my medical history which included the removal of one ovary/fallopian tube due to a Low Malignant Potential ovarian tumor. Given both of those factors, our doctor (whom I refer to here as Dr. Yacht in honor of the luxury boat my treatments are funding), suggested we go right to the big guns of IVF.

Our first was cancelled before we even got going due to a sky high E2 level (no BCP can keep me down…power to the ovary!). The next was a giant bust, and we’re currently right in the middle of the 2WW for our second attempt. So far, I think I’m managing to hold the crazies to a minimum during the wait, although LG might disagree. Much to his chagrin, he gets a near hourly update on the relative soreness of my boobies. (Current reading…not so much). He has recently informed me that my assessment might be more accurate were I not constantly poking and prodding them to check said soreness. An interesting concept, but I’m sticking with my approach.

I’m really looking forward to discovering new blogs this week. Finding this community has been a life saver.

* If you click on the link, Patience Song refers to the name of my first blog.  Due to a giant blow-out between LG and me over the fact that I shared the name of the blog with my sister, thus rendering it less than anonymous, I changed the name in order to continue blogging.  This version has remained a state secret when it comes to anyone IRL.

** Even if I were a young sprightly thing, we would still probably hit the dinner spots early because I hate HATE waiting for a table.  Paragon of patience…not I.

9 Responses

  1. Good luck with ICLW–I too have not been a very successful commenter in the past–
    Thanks for the comments! I’ll be back for more.

  2. Good luck in the 2WW! When I was in the 2WW with Hulk – I would go to the handicapped stall at work and look at my nipples in the mirror (they get darker when I get pregnant). I was SO mad that I hadn’t taken a ‘before’ picture to compare the shades when I was in the 2ww. My husband thought I was freaking NUTS.

    Next time around, I’m totally doing it.

  3. Didn’t realize your E2 levels soar – mine do too. My most recent IVF cycle was canceled a few days before retrieval because they couldn’t keep them under control. Apparently I stim like someone in their early 20’s. If the RE took the time to notice my personality, I’m sure the “quick stimulation” factor would have been evident as I’m a complete spaz.
    Sending you peaceful thoughts for your 2 WW. 🙂

  4. Thanks for your comment on my blog! My family still doesn’t know about my blog. My mom figured out I have one, but doesn’t know its name. I think it’s much easier to be honest when you don’t have people hitting reload on your blog every hour. 🙂 I don’t even write about my extended family — I just don’t want them worrying that I’m clinically depressed if I write a sad post and stuff like that.

    Re musical theater — if you get a chance to see Jersey Boys on Broadway, I strongly recommend it. It was a ton of fun. And I’m a tough critic of people breaking into song.

    Good luck with this cycle!

  5. Good luck with your TWW… hopefully it passes quickly and ends with a BFP!

    A fellow ICLW-er

  6. Good luck with the rest of your 2WW!! Really hope you get to see a BFP!!!

    ICLW

  7. Good Luck with everything…:)

    ICLW

    m:)

  8. I hope your 2ww goes quickly and ends in the BFP you are hoping for!

    I only had one great month of ICLW commenting, last month I even forgot to sign up…

  9. HI there! dropping by through ICLW and nice to see someone my age and also POAS addict 🙂 i have at times done it just so i could stop thinking about it.
    hoping your TWW goes fast and you get 2 lines!

Leave a Reply

