Mel’s Show & Tell

We’re back!  A week of sun, surf, togetherness, and yes, many a fruity drink was exactly what we needed.  It was incredibly restorative in so many ways.  We spoke very little about infertility and treatments, but even when we did, it was in a much more hopeful way.

When we were selecting our vacation spot, we were open to resorts that allowed kids, but at the last minute LG suggested we look for an adults only resort.  (Not one of those kinds – but just something where we wouldn’t be reminded at every turn what was missing.)  It turned out to be a great decision as it really allowed us some time away from the disappointments and even jealousies that have been front and center for so long.

The Dominican Republic (we were about an hour away from Punta Cana) is absolutely beautiful.  We didn’t know what to expect as it’s not one of those places that comes up as much when talking about a beach vacation, but I would highly recommend it.  Miles and miles of beach made for incredible morning walks that were just a great time for LG and I to be together.  The resort where we stayed was also amazing – incredible service, good food, and enough activities to keep it interesting, but you could also do your own thing.  If anyone wants to know where we stayed, feel free to send me an e-mail, and I’m happy to provide more info.  Here’s the view from our room.  I can’t tell you how much I miss looking out the window and seeing this:  view-from-8204-1

We spent most of our time during the day either readsleeping-on-beach-1ing books, swimming and snorkeling, drinking beer (LG) and some fantastical concoction of white rum, pineapple juice, grenadine, and bananas (me) plus a healthy dose of beach naps.  LG delights in capturing me in what he calls my favorite state (he’s right), so here’s me sleeping to the sounds of the surf.  (I’m usually cold no matter where I am, hence the jacket and towel/blanket).

Finally, one of my favorite pictures just because it reminds of me of exactly what this trip was about…an opportunity for LG and me to get away and come together.  We’ll get back to injections, doctor’s appointments, wandings, and follicle/fert reports all too soon, but this picture just gives me a chance to reflect on the two of us and how lucky I am to be part of that.

reflections-sand

Now, it’s time to see what the rest of the class is showing.  Stop over at Mel’s Show & Tell to take a look!

12 Responses

  1. looks like an awesome trip. i’m totally jealous 🙂

  2. Wow…that looks amazing. I hope you feel rested, body and soul.

  3. I’m so glad you were able to re-connect without any pressure or expectations. Looks delightful!

  4. That last picture is incredible…have it blown up and frame it. Sounds like a phenomenal trip.

  5. I agree with Kristin, you should have that picture blown up. It’s so beautiful. I’m so glad you got to get away from everything for awhile and enjoy just you and LG.

  6. ah…vacation…sounds so enticing! the pictures are great!

  7. Looks beautiful. I have heard good things about the dominican republic. Glad you had a good vacation..

  8. That kind of break is crucial….Ask me…I almost burned my brain cells out!

  9. This looks so amazing! Good for you.

  10. Oh I just love these photos–especially of you sleeping! I’m always taking crap from my DH about how I sleep non-stop.

    Glad you enjoyed your time away and I hope it really refreshed you!

  11. What beautiful pictures! My dh and I went to Cancun two years ago to an adults only resort (again, not THAT kind). And it was DIVINE! I would do it again in a second if we had the funds.

    I’m glad you had such a nice time. And no snotty-nosed kiddos to push sand in your face or splash you in the pool. Woot!

  12. Sounds like you guys had an awesome time! Congrats! It’s nice to get back to just being you for a while in the midst of the hell that is infertility.

Leave a Reply

