Brought out of Hiding by Neil Patrick Harris

So, true confessions time.  I’ve been a horrible blogette as of late.   I’ve even fallen behind on reading and commenting although I’m starting to get back into the swing of things.  I have finally been rustled out my pre-IFV #3 hibernation due to the need to share my joy that my secret boyfriend Neil Patrick Harris (yes, LG knows) is going to be hosting the Tony Awards.  Fancy musical theater production numbers and NPH…  it really doesn’t get much better than that!

It’s been up and down but mostly up these past couple of weeks.  To recap:

The Ups:

  1. My mom and I enjoyed an awesome Girls Weekend trip to Phoenix where we spent our days spa’ing, lounging, eating, and drinking in beautiful warm temperatures.  It was so amazing to get up at 6:30 – 7:00 in the morning and be able to sit outside on our patio and not need to bundle up.    We had a terrific time and really re-connected.  Good thing, because it helped smooth things over when I proceeded to completely space Mother’s Day the following weekend.  Sorry, Mom!
  2. Things are going well in the IVF #3 pre-planning stages.  Just taking BCP’s and hoping it’s doing the trick.  So so happy we’re not doing Lupron this go-around.   That stuff mad-a me ca-raaazy.
  3. LG and I are going to an acupuncture info meeting tonight.  I’m well aware that I’m pretty late to be looking into this this seeing as I’m scheduled to start stims on May 29th, but better late than never.  I’m very interested to hear what they have to say and am excited to be doing something “different” this go-around.
  4. I’m 2 weeks and 1 day out from my June LOA…and counting!

The Downs:

  1. I spent most of last week traveling around to different offices to conduct “notification meetings” (e.g. let people go).  Always soul-draining, but on the bright side, I think that should be the last of those conversations for awhile (see point #3 above).
  2. LG and I had yet another painful disagreement about our respective boundaries on whom and what we tell about infertility, IVF, et al.   It ended up being a “good fight,” as I think we got some important issues on the table, but it still really took the wind out of my sails for a few days.

That’s about it.  I’ll try to be a little more prompt (and interesting) in my posting especially since I’ll have time on my hands come June.

6 Responses

  1. Good to hear from you Callie, I was starting to get a little concerned. Sounds like you and your Mom had a great time!

  2. glad to have you back 🙂

    my first ivf cycle i did acupuncture well before starting anything, went a total of 18 times. my second cycle i approached it half assed. i called when i was already on lupron and asked if it was even worth it. she said that anything i would do would be of some benefit. so? i saw her 4 times before transfer and once after transfer. i think that if you’re comfortable with it–it can’t hurt 🙂

    jealous of your time in AZ! sounds great!

  3. hi – glad you came out of hiding.

    Hope the acupuncture meeting went well – I do not think you are too late to the acupuncture game. My Acupuncture Dr said he wanted to see me 6 times before the transfer, so i started about a week or so before stims. I do not think you are too late at all!

    Also, my doc says that the transfer protocol on the day of, before and after transfer is the most important.

    Good luck!

  4. oooh good additions to the list. neil patrick harris is a super hero in my book. not for doogie….but for barney. i love him. LOL

  5. Ach, I hate fights like that. I mean, it’s so difficult because no one is *wrong*, and it’s an important topic so you somehow have to find a common ground. I hope you get some sort of compromise figured out.

    Yay for all the good things, though!

  6. I did acupuncture for migraines…I loved how relaxed it made me feel. I hope that it does the same for you. I’m glad to see you back! 🙂

Leave a Reply

