Happy ICLW Week – May

I thought I’d provide a quick synopsis of where things stand to date for those stopping by the first time (I’m very happy you’re here and I’m excited to visit your place!), and then go back to regularly scheduled programming.

My husband (known here as LG) and I have been married a year and a half, and we’ve been trying to expand our family literally since our wedding night. It’s a first time marriage for both of us but it took us a long time to find each other, so we’re practically both in the eating-at-Denny’s-at-4:30-in-the-afternoon camp** when it comes to baby-making. I’m 37 and he’s 44.

We fast-tracked our first visit to the RE given our ages as well as my medical history which included the removal of one ovary/fallopian tube due to a Low Malignant Potential ovarian tumor. Given both of those factors, our doctor (whom I refer to here as Dr. Yacht in honor of the luxury boat my treatments are funding), suggested we go right to the big guns of IVF.

Our first was canceled before we even got going due to a sky high E2 level (no BCP can keep me down…power to the ovary!). The next – and the one after that – were both giant busts.  Our diagnosis is still – frustratingly – unexplained, although after 2 attempts that have produced over 40 eggs combined (from one ovary!) resulting in a paltry 7 embryos – none of which successfully implanted – Dr. Yacht is now leaning more and more towards poor egg quality as the culprit.  After a much needed break, we’re now about a week away from starting stims for our 3rd attempt.  This time I’m shaking things up and taking a leave of absence from work for the month of June, and I’ll be spending that time pursuing acupuncture and other integrative therapies.  I’m well aware that this is probably a paltry attempt to exert some “control” over the situation, but it helps to feel like we’re doing something different.  Plus, IF has been such an all around drag – the least I can get out of it is a nice long summer break from work!

I’m really looking forward to discovering new blogs this week. Finding this community has been a life saver.

**Even if I were a young sprightly thing, we would still probably hit the dinner spots early because I hate HATE waiting for a table.  Paragon of patience…not I.

19 Responses

  1. Hi again…ICLW is always a great reason to de-lurk, right?

    Excited to see how #3 goes and I am SO jealous that you are taking a whole month off of work! I just want to do that…without the IVF!

    Anyways…I’ll be keeping an eye on you so keep us posted!

  2. ha ha…you know you’re old when you chose to have dinner in the hour of four or nine in order to avoid having to wait for a table. for awhile i would only go to a place that would take a reservation so that i could just walk in and sit down. 🙂

    it’s always fun to read a brief bio about people. it’s funny what we forget about once we get embedded in the blog/life!

  3. I just had my first acupuncture treatment…I hope it works for you!! And good luck with your IVF cycle!

    (ICLW)

  4. I’ve read that accupuncture really works for IF, I hope one of your options works for you!

    ICLW

  5. haha loved the dinner comments. Lots of blue haired people there huh?

    Mr. Shelby
    ICLW

  6. I too am a “geriatric” infertile! The good thing is, we’re still young enough to beat the folks with walkers inside the restaurant to get our names on the waiting list first! I hope this upcoming cycle works magic for you. Good luck!

  7. I only did acupuncture for migraines, but I LERVED it…I found it very relaxing.

  8. I hope your leave is wonderful and restorative and lucky for your next cycle!

  9. Here from ICLW. 🙂 I’m so sorry you’ve been through so much. I also have been told I have poor egg quality and I’m 33. 😦 It’s a hard pill to swallow. I wish you the very best in your journey sweetie. (((HUGS))))

  10. Here’s to your third time being THE one! I hope you can enjoy a FULL month off of work! Good luck!
    *ICLW*

  11. Enjoy your month off and good luck on round #3!!!

  12. Just had my first acupuncture today – it was really incredible. I felt immediate shifts of energy, like electricity moving throughout my body so I hope it does something! I wish you lots of luck in your month off and hope you get a lot out of the therapies and treatments too.

    Happy ICLW

  13. Stopping by for ICLW. Accupuncture is very relaxing. Great opportunity to take a break from life.

  14. I wish you so much good luck with this cycle! Acupunture and massage and yoga are delightful treats on their own and it sounds like you deserve lots of good care and happy stuff, so i hope your leave allows for all that and a successful cycle!

    ICLW

  15. Thanks for the intorduction :-).
    Hope you enjoy your acupuncture and other integrative therapies and good luck on your third cycle!

    ICLW

  16. Sorry the IVF isn’t going so well… I hope this cycle is better!

    ICLW

  17. Hi 🙂

    I have to agree with you that finding this community has been a lifesaver.

    All the best for your next cycle!

    ICLW

  18. Happy ICLW and I hope you have a wonderful and rejuvenating month of accu and fun! Good luck with cycle number three!

  19. Wishing you so much success on this next round. I know how hard it is! I think it’s great you’re taking the month off to concentrate on this and relax. Not that IVF is relaxing mind you… It is so emotional and the wait to see if it works is excruciating and it’s crushing when it doesn’t work. (Our first attempt was a bust…) So good for you for taking the time you need. Will check back on your progress.

    Cheers.

Leave a Reply

