Connections

First, my thanks to everyone who’s stopped by and left a comment for ICLW. I’m so enjoying welcoming new people here and finding new stories to follow. Making some of these new connections has caused me to think about connections in my personal life.

I’ve written before about how I wish I had more friends in my life(If you click on the link, feel free to skip to #9.)  While I adore LG and love the time we spend together, there are times I’m still very lonely for girlfriends. 

Last night, we went to a Memorial Day BBQ with some people I had worked with at my previous company.  We had so much fun!  Fun that may have been helped along by the fact that I single-handedly consumed a bottle of wine*, but a great time nonetheless.   At one point the party turned into a typical 7th grade dance with the girls on one side and the boys on the other.  Only, this was the adult version with all the guys outside gathered around the grill and all the girls inside in the kitchen.  It was so good to be around a group of women just having fun and laughing.  We talked about everything (job security in these economic times) and nothing (reality TV…verdict – Real Housewives are lame but So You Think You Can Dance rocks).  Nobody at the party knows anything about our infertility or  upcoming IVF, and it was so just freeing. 

I used to work very closely with one of the women there, and I had forgotten how much I really enjoy her and feel like we have a connection.  LG has been after me for awhile to reach out to her, but I felt like too much time had gone by.  Now that our paths have crossed again, I’m definitely going to give her a call.   Here’s to new connections with old friends.

Now, for the Show & Tell portion of today’s post.  For quite some time, I’ve been looking for an occasion to break out the corn cob cupcakes I saw in one of my many cooking magazines.  Yesterday’s BBQ seemed like the perfect event, and I was really excited about how they turned out.  The “corn kernels” are yellow and white Jelly Bellies (my favorite!) and the “butter pats” are yellow starbursts.  They were quite the hit at the party, but if you make them, please be warned that sugar overload is a near certainty. 

Corn Cob Cupcakes 1

 To see what the rest of the class is showing, head over to Mel’s place

 

 

 

 

 

* This was the swan song to the libations since I’m officially in IVF preparation mode starting Monday.  Thought I’d go out with a bang!

19 Responses

  1. Those corn cob cupcakes are so darn cute! Is there anything better than a cupcake?

  2. Oh my goodness those are so cute! What a great idea. Is that poppy seed for “pepper” and starburst for “butter”?

    I’ll have to remember that one!

  3. Thanks, Liv! They were really fun to make. The “pepper” is actually black sanding sugar. I must admit, I had to make a special trip for that as it’s not something I normally have around the house!

  4. It’s wonderful to hear that you enjoyed reconnecting with a friend from work. and those cupcakes look decadent and yummy!

    ICLW

  5. I feel the same way about having more friends in our life, moving around so much and across the world makes it difficult to stay close with people and although I love H to death some days I really wish I had some girlfriends to escape with. Make sure you do call the lady you used to work with, it’s great to be given another opportunity to reach out to her!

    Those cupcakes look yummy, I’m going to have to give them a try!

  6. Those cupcakes look awesome!!! I’ll have to steal that idea sometime.

    I feel similar to you in relation to friends. My husband and I found each other later in life…I was 30 and he was 34. We’ve been TTC since we got married 4.5 years ago, and no one our age is really in the same boat as us. Everyone our age seems to have kids, and it’s really tough for me to be around that all the time. We make do with being each other’s everything…but there’s something to be said for a time like you described…that connection with other people.

    Good luck to you in your journey!

    ICLW

  7. Mmmm…those cupcakes look devine!

    I hear you on wanting more girlfriend time. I find myself wavering back and forth between wanting to hang out with the girls and just wanting to stay home with my husband, but once I’m out with the girls, I realize how great it is. I hope you can use the opportunity to reconnect with your former co-worker!

  8. What fabulous cupcakes! And, I am so glad you connected with some cool women.

  9. Seriously – I thought those were skewered corn cobs. I never would have guessed they were cupcakes – too perfect looking!!
    Delicious!

  10. You know I too find myself wishing I had more “real life friends”. Or more online friends while I’m being completely honest. I recently separated from the Air Force where I spent 8 long friendless years. Most of because of deployments, my ongoing pancreatic issues and the fact that I was a supervisor.
    My husband is truly my best friend and I know I am incredibly lucky in that aspect…. BUT it would be nice to just have someone else to talk to beside our dog. I think the situation is made a little worse by the fact that I work from home….
    Anywho I love your cupcakes, they are most definitely next on my to bake list!
    *ICLW*

  11. Wow! What cupcakes!
    I can really relate about connecting with people, and then not really taking the time to form a friendship with them…until it’s too late, or seems that way. Good luck with your second chance.

    You have a tag on my blog. Look under the “crazy 8’s” post. 🙂

  12. those cupcakes look awesome 🙂 a friend of mine got me a cupcake cookbook for my birthday and i have been dying to make something from that book. you have inspired me to check it out again 🙂

  13. Hi Callie, Thanks very much for stopping by my blog. I would say it wasn’t so dreary all the time, but it kinda is right now. It is my place to let that stuff out so I really appreciate you reading and commenting. I agree with what you said – husbands are just so hard to tell what they are thinking. And also that if my hubby is willing to sell our house he is probably on board. I just wish I had all the answers and I get frustrated when I don’t 😉

    I LOVE those cupcakes. When I saw the picture, at first I was like how did she cut that out of corn on the cob!? haha!! so cute

    Best of luck on this next round for you. I will definitely be waiting to see what happens and here to cheer you on!

  14. I LOVE the cupcakes. LOVE! I’m totally going to make those some time this summer.
    ICLW

  15. I hear you about needing more girlfriends. I work with mostly women, but we rarely get together outside of work.

    The cupcakes rock! I would never be able to be that creative!

    ICLW (and belated Show and Tell)

  16. Love the cupcakes!

    ICLW

  17. those cupcakes are adorable!!!!

    it must be really nice to be around people who have no idea about your infertility, that has never been the case for me, as i have the gossip circle from hell in my life.

    ILCW

  18. That is totally adorable!!

    I have to make those one day. 🙂

  19. I’m totally going to make those! I love them! I was scrolling down and saw the picture and was like “oh food!” even better that it’s food that isn’t good for me!
    Glad you had a good time at the BBQ. Connection with people can be hard, no matter where you are in your life. I hope you’re able to connect with many more people and enjoy them!
    *HUGS*

Leave a Reply

